Sightseeing guide for Naxos
Naxos is an island with rich history which starts from the ancient years and Byzantine period and continues to medieval times until the 18th and 19th century. The island is full of Venetian towers built in Naxian stone, such as Bellonia tower in Galanado, Barotsi tower in Filoti and other towers in Trageam, Kourounochori and other villages.
Portara is the most famous monument in Naxos. It is a gigantic gate, remain of the ancient temple dedicated to Apollo, which was built during the 6th century BC. It is located at the northern part of the port and can be seen from the ships which approach to Naxos.
Naxos Town Castle and Glezos Tower, Chora, tel: (+30) 22850-31135
Naxos Town Castle was built during the three-century Venetian rule (1204 to 1537) on the island. It is an impressive monument located on a hill- the natural acropolis- of Chora. This medieval settlement is still inhabited and preserves its original form and characteristics. The Castle's walls created by the external walls of the peripheral houses, form a pentagon and there are 3 gates to the inside of the Town Castle. Near the north-western gate stands Glezos Tower (Krispi) which extends along both the northern and the western side of the Castle. Glezos Tower has 4 floors and is the only tower on the island which is round.
Archaeological Museum, Chora, tel: (+30) 22850-22725
Openninig Hours: Thuesday to Sunday: 08:00 to 17:00 Tickets: Full admission 3 euros, reduced admission (students from countries outside the E.U., citizens of the E.U. aged over 65) 2euro,naxos figurine free admission for persons under 18, university students from Greece and the EU, members of the ICOM, tour guides, journalists and persons possessing a free admission card.
The Archaeological Museum of Naxos is located in Chora, the capital of Naxos, housed in a 17th century Venetian building. The museum houses works of art and objects from the Late Neolithic period until the Early Christian times.
Pyrgos Chimarrou (Chimarros' Tower), south-eastern Naxos, Zas mountain area
Pyrgos Chimarrou is similar to other towers found on the Aegean islands. However it is unique because of its impressive height of 15m. It is better preserved externally than internally where parts of it are about to collapse. The tower is circular and the walls, made of local marble, are 1,1m thick. On some stones you can see mason's marks, such as Ë, V and O. The tower had initially been divided into 4 floors. It is considered to be in some way connected to the protection of the emery production of Naxos.
Iria -Dionysus' Sanctuary and Agios Georgios church, Livadi
Opening Hours: Tuesday to Sunday: 08:30 to 15:00
Iria, an area near Livadi village, has been the sacred place of the Aegean from the 14th century BC until nowadays. Iria was dedicated to Dionysus during the ancient times. During the following centuries parts of the Dionysos' sanctuary have been destroyed and others have been built in their place again. Later, Agios Georgios (Saint George) was worshiped in the same area. The Iria temple was partially rebuilt. The third temple provides evidence of the existence of a wooden prostyle portico, while the fourth temple is the earliest example of Ionic Prostyle temple made by marble.
Sagri - Gyroulas' Temple, Sagri
The temple of Gyroulas was built in the 6th century BC by the tyrant of Naxos, Lygdamis. It is an important monument as it is a rare example of a marble temple of which more than 50% of the ancient building material is preserved. The temple was a “telestirion”, designed for the celebrations of the mysteries. During the Byzantine years the temple was converted into a basilica from which a part is well preserved.
Church of Panagia Drossiani, Moni, tel: (+30) 22850-31003
Church of Panagia (Virgin) Drossiani is an Early Christian tri-apsidal church with a dome. In the northern side there are 3 single room chapels. The interior walls are decorated with wall paintings of various phases. The church has probably originally been a Catholic Monastery. Worth noticing are the benedictory inscriptions of the 6th and 7th century on the walls. The church was restored in 1964 and the wall paintings have been cleared from the recent layers.
Church of Panagia Protothrone, Chalki (Chalkion) Trageas, tel: (+30) 22850-31135
Panagia (Virgin) Protothrone is a church designed as a cross with dome, and is one of the earliest of this type, dated in the first half of the 9th century. The church was initially a basilica. Inside the church there is also a chapel of Agios Akindynos. On the inner walls there are 5 layers of wall paintings from the Early Christian, Middle Byzantine and Late Byzantine periods. The church is used until today as a Orthodox Christian church.
The Geological Museum, Apiranthos
The Geological Museum of Naxos is located at Apiranthos and housed on the upper level of the primary school of the region. Its exhibits include a rich collection of rare samples of ores, rock-types, minerals and fossils, displayed in historical and geological units and gem groups. There are exhibits from places all over Greece as well as different parts of the world.
Vallindra Distillery, Chalki (Chalkion) Trageas, tel: (+30)22850 31220
Vallindras distillery was established in 1896 in Chalki and was the first distillery which produced Kitro. It is worth visiting the distillery itself as well as the museum inside the distillery.
Kouros statues at Flerio and Apollonas
Near the 2 villages there are half finished male statues (Kouros). The statues date back to 7th or 6th century BC.